top of page
Search

Meet Ceramist Aymen of Tunisia!

Hello Aymen! I have heard so much about you! It is exciting to meet you in person.


Aymen: It is my pleasure to be here. First, I want to say thank you to the RWP organization for believing in my work and for giving me the opportunity to sell my products and earn money from it.


We are grateful to be given the opportunity to help sell your amazing pieces. So! When did you start making ceramics?


Aymen: I started back when I was around 14. My father could not afford to send all of my siblings and I to school so we stayed back home to help with his pottery business. I started out kneading clay in his workshop before I moved on to making slabs and then creating my own pieces. We made cups, bowls, and jugs and sold them at very cheap prices so people could afford them and so we could have money.



Wow! I assume then that you have a lot of experience under your belt. You mentioned a bit about your childhood and I’m curious about how your childhood was.


Aymen: It was… it was tough to say the least. My parents, myself, and all five of my siblings had to survive 200 Dinar in a month. Most of the time our light supply was cut off, there was only one borehole that gave water in the neighbourhood. It was 5 miles away from our cottage so every morning we had to wake up and get there before anyone else if we wanted water that day at all. The hardships aside, my childhood was pretty fun and always enjoyed those moments of laughter my family and I shared.


You are such a strong woman! Going through all that and fighting it is true braveness. What are you most grateful for?


Aymen: I am most grateful for my Father because he taught me my craft and if you really think about it, gave me the opportunity to be here today talking about the pieces you guys sell in your company.


That’s heartwarming. Is there any advice you’d like to share?


Aymen: The only advice I have is that no matter what hardship you’ll face in life, because you’re gonna face many challenges. Don’t give up. Remember you got it and you’ll move through.


17 views0 comments
bottom of page